Angela Hartnett named among New Year’s Honours

Teenage plastic activists Amy and Ella Meek join chefs Hartnett and Claudia Roden in the New Year’s Honours list for food and environment.

Chef Angela Hartnett, food writer Claudia Roden and teenage environmentalists Amy and Ella Meek are among those named in the 2022 New Year’s Honours list.

The list highlights individuals who have provided critical public services during a turbulent period amid the global pandemic and heightening climate crisis.

Chef Angela Hartnett of Michelin star restaurant, Murano, was awarded an OBE for her services to the hospitality industry and response to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The list also recognised her business partner and hotelier, Robin Hutson, who founded The Pig hotel group, renowned for their home grown and local produce.

At the start of the coronavirus pandemic, Hartnett founded Cook-19, a not-for-profit that delivered over 50,000 cooked meals to NHS workers during the height of the pandemic.
Angela Hartnett was celebrated for services to hospitality. Credit Imagine Communications

The list also recognised Hartnett and Hutson’s campaigning to create a specialist Minister of Hospitality, a sector that has suffered due to coronavirus restrictions and Brexit-related issues.

The honours list also included 85-year-old food writer Roden, for her literary contribution, and for being one of the first to use food and cooking to discuss issues of culture, history and identity. Yotam Ottolenghi also credits her as an influential figure in the introduction of middle eastern cuisine to the UK.

In other green recognitions, teenage environmentalists Amy and Ella Meek have been awarded the British Empire Medal for their longstanding and inspirational campaigning against plastic.

The sisters launched the campaign Kids Against Plastic in 2016 when they were only 12 and 10 and have succeeded in uniting over 1,300 schools and lobbying parliament to reduce their plastic use.

The list has also credited leading academics working in climate change such as Kathryn Brown and Myles Allan Brown, head of adaption of the Climate Change Committee, has been awarded an OBE for her role in driving government awareness of climate change risk.

Allan, professor of geosystem science at the University of Oxford and longstanding scientist on the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), was included in the honours list for his ground-breaking research in measuring green-house gases.


Leave a Reply

In case you missed it

Read the latest edition of Wicked Leeks online

Issue 12: Fairness and five years.

Learn more

About us

Find out more about Wicked Leeks and our publisher, organic veg box company Riverford.

Learn more